ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-24 ... 8:19 p.m.

previous - next

A whole day in returns!

So I got my chores done around the house this morning, doing the dishes and taking care of the one errant credit card I never canceled. It was the store card that was in my name. I tried to cancel it about 2 weeks ago, but there was an issue with the points that had been earned on it, and transferring them to the Ex's card.

I got the points transferred, but when I tried to cancel the card, I was told it would cancel HIS card too, because I was the card-holder, and he just had an extra card. So I have to FAX them a cancellation, with our Federal tax ID number on business letterhead, and I assume, a sample of DNA while I'm at it. Sheesh!

Not like I have business letterhead here, either. So I had to call the Ex and ask him to send me a sheet. This is the first time I've talked to him since I left four months ago. He's called me a couple of times, but he never was able to reach me, and only left a message which I never returned. So. That was my morning.

I started work at 11. I spent my whole day in returns today, and it was great. I'm really liking working there, because I don't have to go searching for customers, I work very near the front door so I can see outside, and even get a breeze now and then when the doors open, and I get to just people watch, too. I hope I can get to permanently be in returns!

The main return person is going to head cashier school, and then will be a head cashier, and likely not working returns. That would leave a spot open for me... one can hope, anyway.

So I opened cans of paint, and every box that came my way. I did an even exchange on an item I shouldn't have, but it wasn't a big deal. The guy DID have his receipt, after all. I was supposed to have RTVd it (Return to Vendor) and then sold him the new one. Oh well. The store didn't lose any money from it, so I'm not too worried about it.

I did get a "write-up" again, for being $9 and change short in one of my tills. I was not happy with myself over that, but the head cashier who brought me the slip to sign said that it wasn't that much, and not a big deal. So, ok, I guess I won't worry about it. At least I'm not short all the time, so they know I'm not stealing!

I did one thing right today, though. A customer came up with a ten-dollar bill and asked me for change. I sent him over to the head cashier, telling him that I couldn't open my drawer for that (which I can, but I'm not supposed to). He went walking off until another employee (Bubba or something like that was his name) asked him something, and I realized he was an employee! I called him back and gave him his change... and was told by "Bubba" that I did the right thing. Woot!

I'm much more confident now in returns than I was even yesterday. Working the whole day there and having no major problems was a great boost. Yay! Since it was three months ago tomorrow since I was hired, I finally feel like I can make it there! I'm even beginning to know where most things are in the store too, and that helps a lot. FINALLY!!!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-09-25 03:45:45
YAY for learning your way around, and for making good decisions on the fly! I sure hope you do end up in returns. You sound like you're a really good fit there. *HUGS*
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-09-25 04:03:01
You'll be a manager soon.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-25 04:43:21
Good deal on working in Returns. Hope they put you there long term or even permanently, if you like it!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-09-25 06:07:02
watch out for them sand filled paint cans!! heheeheee!!!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-25 10:44:33
this may not mean anything coming from lil ole me, but i am very proud of you Bean! you are working your way up (as i knew you would) and really making a dent on the place. good for you! and I agree with Poolie.. not long and you'll be a manager.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-09-25 11:49:56
I've always found that three months was the magic number for me in a new job where I felt confident. Good for you -- I may buy stock in the Depot of Home now that you are working there!
-------------------------------
Rose - 2008-09-25 20:55:34
thank you for always being there for me through the years...i just wanted to let you know that your blogship, or friendship or wahtever you want to call it means something to me. love rose
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group