ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-29 ... 8:44 p.m.

previous - next

Working a schedule

I got home from work about 20 minutes ago, made something to eat and sat down here at the computer. I am hoping that once my three months "probation" is up at the Depot I can get some kind of regular schedule to keep my life a little steadier.

Today I worked 11:30-8PM, tomorrow I work 5:30AM until 2PM. Since I have about an eighteen minute drive to work, I usually leave the house about a half hour before I need to be there. So once again, I will be getting up at the crack of dawn to get to work, less than 12 hours after I got home. I'm not complaining, much. I like having a job, but the weird hours... well, let's just say I would like to have a regular schedule, and a little weekend time off. I've worked every weekend since I started there, over two months ago.

ANYWAY, I looked at the schedule for the week of September 8th, and I had only 24 hours! This, after having several weeks of 40 hours. I asked the scheduler what was up, and she said that they were cutting hours. (OK, but don't cut mine!!!!) Makes me wonder, since there are several new cashiers.

I found Norma out in the store after I'd been there a couple hours, and the FIRST thing she said to me was not to worry, she would find me more hours, but that the scheduler has to meet her numbers. I know she will get me at least one more day, and one of the people who didn't have her hours cut (she's worked there longer than me) said I could have one of her days. She was looking forward to not working so much, and manages an apartment building, so she needs time off to do things around there. Looks like I will get my 40 hours anyway. Woot!

If the Depot didn't have such good benefits, I would be looking elsewhere, but since they have insurance and paid sick days even for part timers, I will stay there until I find something better. If I can.

I know today was Friday, and a lot of people celebrate the weekend early. But there were several customers who came in this afternoon and evening who smelled like they had had several drinks before they'd come in. I don't know about you, but shopping is one thing I just don't think about when I get drunk. It just doesn't appeal to me to have to walk around a store. Once I'm drunk, either I like to walk around with giant flaming puffies on a stick, or sit on a porch and laugh. NOT go shopping!

Today was also payday, and I got a bit extra.. the mileage money for my training when I first got hired, two months ago. Sheesh! That took a while! Just glad I finally got it though, I was beginning to wonder! I'm sure it will come in handy, since Dude's book bills are beginning to roll in....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

art - 2008-08-30 04:14:20
coming in THERE drunk to go shopping??? thats nuts!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-08-30 04:21:03
People come in drunk to do their taxes. Almost every day we have at least one. That's not something I'd think I'd want to be drunk enough to forget either, but whatever. We do the best we can with them.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-30 04:32:28
After they drink they start to feel the pressure of their wives and the list of home projects that they need to do on their long weekend I bet. Maybe the wives load them up on beers to entice them to get started eh?
-------------------------------
Orgami - 2008-08-30 05:25:50
What kind of work Cocobean? Drunk people eh? they are everywhere and especially holidays glad you have your hours now and found someone to relate too I am following your diary here from North Bay still things are still here going for me for the most part well they are stranger actually my ex and I are relating more and I have my fan base with poetic tales on other sites too etc Wow San Diego hot dry weather not humid and chilly and then snowy up here I can hardly wait Hmmm wives loading up men on beers to get them started just read that hey thats true!!!! Way to go Cocoabean!! Orgami
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2008-08-30 15:16:59
Yup, nothing like getting piss drunk on a holiday weekend, reving up the old table saw and taking off a few fingers. Good times.
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-08-30 19:44:46
I thought home improvement shopping was a really odd thing to do drunk until I read Mary's comment! I'm glad you will get your hours in this week.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group