ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-30 ... 6:30 p.m.

previous - next

Moving excitement!!!

I had a most relaxing day off today! For one thing, I slept until almost 8:30, which is really late for me. I didn't get to bed until midnight because I worked until 10, but usually I wake up at 7 or so and I'm up... but not today. Yay!

So I hung around and did my Pogo challenge for the week, and made a few phone calls getting my address changed and things like that. I realized that I need the power on here until I can at least get the house vacuumed, but the power company said when I have it shut off, it goes to the landlord's account, so I can vacuum on his bill. Heh.

Then I decided it was time to do laundry, since I really don't like leaving it for the weekend. There's no telling how busy a laundromat will be, so I sat there for my hour and a half reading, and waiting for things to dry.

I called the management company for my new place, just to confirm that the keys would be in the lockbox there, and I needed the combination, too. Lucky thing I called. She said they accidentally brought the keys BACK to the management company, so I had to go up there and pick them up. Had I waited until tomorrow morning, I likely would not have had time to run up there to pick them up, since it's a 20-30 minute drive, depending on traffic.

So I have my keys! I stopped at the Depot of Home to get some extras made, and then went to see my new place! Woot! I did my walkthrough, and other than the furnace and stove not working (I think it's a pilot light issue, since the oven went on, but not the burners) and a screen that's not on the bedroom window, it's great! Just like I remember it..

My only issue is where I will put my bookshelves. But I can figure something out for that. I do have an idea for it that might just work. And I took my camera along, but it never occurred to me to take pictures!

The weather was beautiful here today, in the mid 70s, and so it was a great day to be out and doing things. I took the plastic off one of the windows so I could open it up and feel the breeze. I left the kitchen window unplasticked (it is SO a word!) so I had that open while I did the dishes. I washed down the cupboards that are empty, and scrubbed the tub out so that next week, all I have to do is give it a light cleaning. That, vacuuming, and scrubbing the floors will be the majority of my cleanup after I leave. Oh and oops, the refrigerator. I am not really looking forward to that and I guess that's why I keep forgetting about it. Ha!

Another night of closing tomorrow, which means I have the morning off to run errands... get a shower curtain and I might just take my bed frame over there so I can see where I want my bed to go. Once the bed is on the frame, it's not all that easy to move around. I'm sure glad I could get the keys this early, it gives me a good head start before the movers come! Soon!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

beyondpanic - 2009-01-31 03:44:25
Almost there!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-01-31 04:00:34
Whee! New home! And go you for leaving the old one so nice and clean. ~LA
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-01-31 05:00:00
Whoopee! Moving is a pain in the butt, but sounds like it's a good move for you, all the way around. I hope it remains good once you're all moved in!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-01-31 13:00:21
You could give lessons on how to leave an old apartment. And I know people who could use them!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-31 15:00:15
I alwsys liked leaving my former home as clean as I could....just like I would want it if I was moving in. Once we left a townhouse and the maintenance man told us later that another family moved in that very aftersoon because it was so clean. Of course we got our security deposit back quickly too. Good luck with the move, glad you got the key early and sounds like it is a "GO" for the move!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group