ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-11 ... 5:53 p.m.

previous - next

Days off are great!

I had just a lovely day off today! It actually started with waking up without the alarm, and knowing I didn't have to work. I woke up at 6:45, but considering I went to sleep at 9:45, that was just about time to get up!

It was overcast for most of the morning, and I wasn't at all sure I would even see the sun, but by noon, the sun had appeared, and the sky was a really pretty shade of blue. Except for the tar smell in the neighborhood from a new roof, it was a beautiful day!

After playing around on the computer for a bit, I went to meet Big
Sister for breakfast. We went to a 50's type diner in one of the malls near her house, and the food was awesome! I had huevos rancheros (ranch eggs) and they were delicious! It was two eggs with beans on some crispy fried tortillas, with guacamole and sour cream, and potatoes on the side. I was hungry and ate the whole thing! Yum!!

Big Sister had some errands to run, so we did those, and then I dropped her off. I just vegged for the rest of the morning, and then in the afternoon I signed up for a research study. I was inoculated with a vaccine for shingles... or not. There is a 50/50 chance I got a placebo.

So I have to keep a diary for 42 days on my symptoms (or lack thereof) and then go back to see the doc. Of course, the 42nd day is when I will be in Tombstone. OF COURSE. So they will either see me one day early, or 4 days late. They are going to call me back and let me know... and then there will be follow-up phone surveys to take. All in all, it sounds kind of fun. They even gave me a digital thermometer in case I feel feverish... that's one of the big issues with the vaccination. But I feel fine.. at least for now.

After my appointment, I headed off to Henry's and Albertson's to see what kind of things were on sale... peaches and nectarines and grapes were 99 cents a pound, but strawberries were 4 pounds for $5 and raspberries were 4 pints for $5! Woot!! I only bought what I think will last for a week, but yum! My favorites, blueberries, were $2.59 a pint! Last week they were $1 a pint. That's ok, I have raspberries and strawberries to make up for it.

Then at Albertson's, lots of things were on sale, and I spent quite a bit of money, but I won't need to shop again for a while. Well, at least not to the extent I shopped today. But it was fun just picking out what I wanted, and luckily, almost all of it was on sale. I think I saved over $20 with my Albertson's card. Woot!

I even stopped for gas, since I'm going on a short road trip tomorrow, and my favorite gas station is down to $3.69 a gallon. Considering other places in the city are still about $4 or more, that's a pretty good deal. Although it's kind of sad.. I never thought I would consider $3.69 a gallon a good deal!

So tonight will be just for hanging around and relaxing... and maybe playing some Pogo. If not that, then I will be reading in bed, one of my all-time favorite pastimes! Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-09-12 02:19:09
Albertsons sometimes has AWESOME deals but they're too far for me to ride the bus for groceries. Though I am thinking seriously of investing in one of those old-lady wire carts to do my shopping.
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-09-12 02:23:53
Hope you remain happily symptom free!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-09-12 02:33:56
So are there any benefits for being a guinea pig with the vaccine?? Have a great couple days off--that is one benefit of work--days off seem soooooooo great!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-12 03:24:35
I found Albertson's expensive when I lived in WA, but then I have the commissary -- so I am not the right person to ask. I hope you remain symptom-free with the vaccine! I heard it's no fun to have shingles.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-09-12 04:29:48
Hope you are a placebo!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-09-12 11:50:28
Kudos to you from the Retail Avenger! That was some excellent shopping! Like Poolie, I hope you got the placebo. See you soon! ~LA
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-09-12 13:18:01
Did they ask if you've ever had chicken pox? I'm glad you're doing a project for a shingles vaccine... maybe they'll get around to making vaccines for the rest of virus family.
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-09-12 13:40:46
Oh, I've had shingles before. It is very, very painful. And the medication is very expensive. If you are the one that sent Blue the crowns, I wanted to say they are awesome.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-09-28 23:54:12
Sounds like a relaxing day. I love waking up with out an alarm clock. Although I have a cute furry one who seems to know when I ought to be up. He's much better than an electronic clock; however, he does nip my elbows when I don't pay attention. We have been shopping at Ralphs here on the Central Coast and are appalled what they charge for fruit. $2.49 a pound for peaches and we can go to Foods-4-Less and buy peaches at 89 cents a pound and these peaches are in much better condition.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group