ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-06-21 ... 7:08 p.m.

previous - next

An interesting day in returns

I worked in returns today, and it was sloooowww. We spent a lot of time this morning cleaning. The other person who was working there is a former head cashier, so I was asking her questions about things and I know she was wondering what I was getting at, so I mentioned the interview for head cashier, and she gave me a few tips on that score. Heh. I use what I can...

Anyway, a girl brought in an item with a receipt that had been obviously crunched up into a ball and stepped on, with a matching item, which when scanned, gave us the message that it had been previously returned. Her comment was, "How could it have been returned? It's right here!" The former HC tried it again on a different computer (mine) and got the same message. This is almost always a sign of someone who found a receipt and stole an item to match it, to get the cash back. Plus she insisted on getting cash back, when told she could only get store credit. My partner took the item to Norma, and explained the situation, then they both came back, and told the girl that it had already been returned, and there was no way to bypass the computer, and in no way was she getting a refund of any kind. It just makes me laugh when people pull this kind of crap. The girl got all pissy and snatched one of the items out of Norma's hand and stalked out. Norma then got all pissy and said "Don't EVER snatch anything out of my hand!!" which I thought was kind of a wasted threat, since she likely won't ever see the chick again.

Now they logged that refund attempt, so any time she tries to return that item, with or without a receipt, it will show up on the computer, at ANY Depot of Home in the US. What a shame, huh?

The rest of the day went pretty smooth, until about 3:30 when a man walked in with a HUGE cartload of stuff left over from his remodeling project. Jeebus. There was nothing to do but just dive in and get it done, so I started working on it and made my way through all the stuff. It ended up being over $900 worth of stuff, and the guy had receipts for all but about $200 of it. That was actually pretty good! He kept thanking me over and over for being so patient with it, but it was actually kind of fun, so it really wasn't that bad. At the end I gave him his receipt, which was about two feet long, and told him to go online and leave feedback.. and I'm sure he will. Another good comment for me! Woot!

If everyone who SAYS they will leave a comment for me would, I would have more of those than anyone else! I don't get anything for them anymore, but it sure doesn't hurt to be mentioned on the comments every week!

So after that huge cart of stuff, I only had time for another couple customers and then I was done. It was nice to leave and come home and just chill.

I have another returns day tomorrow but I start at 5:30 instead of 8. Then I have two days off! Woot! Looking forward to that!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Poolie - 2009-06-22 03:04:23
2 days off will be fabooo!
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-06-22 10:13:38
Who's the hardest-working Bean in the whole USA?!!! XOFifi
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-06-22 18:30:51
I bet the day went by quickly. sounds like you had a lot of work to do but made it through very well.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-06-22 19:25:07
I swear, if I saw someone coming up to my register with $900 of returns, I'd just about shit. Isn't it funny how something that makes one person cringe is perceived by another person to be not so bad.

Here's another thought...is there another store location nearby that is looking for full time peeps? Can you transfer? Just a thought! Hope you enjoy your two days off! WOOT!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group