ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-06-22 ... 7:38 p.m.

previous - next

Another day in returns

I worked at 5:30 this morning, in returns. I had a pretty good day, being able to hold my own without help until Buster got in at 10. Then I took my lunch break, and by the time I got back, I only had about 3 hours left in my day.

Buster decided that he should be the "greeter" and instead of working, he was standing at the front door, greeting customers as they came in. There was one point where it got busy, and instead of coming to help me, he just stood and greeted. So I called the HC and Jason said he would send someone, but he didn't. I honestly think he forgot, because when I called to tell him I had gotten it all cleaned up, he sounded surprised, like oops, I forgot surprised. Whatever.

The VOC (voice of the customer) comments came out, and I was on it twice! Woot!! Both good comments, too, thankfully. But there was a negative one on there, about a "returns" cashier who was rude and it was about Buster.

Buster is the one I think will get the next HC position, just because he works so often in returns. I am a bit irritated about that, since I had been promised returns hours twice and haven't been given them, but whatever. What was interesting about the whole comment thing was that a HC was in the break room while I was there, and said that there are a LOT of complaints about his "attitude". That makes me wonder if my assessment is wrong, and the complaints might work against him should he apply for HC. I guess there's nothing to do but wait and see.... other than finding another job.

And I overheard him arguing with a customer today. It makes me wonder how many he argues with.. since not everyone will report him for being rude.

It sure was nice to be able to leave at 2, when it was horrendously busy in returns (HAHA) and I did a bit of grocery shopping on my way home. I actually found a really good deal on tequila at the grocery store (like, half price) and if I wasn't so short on money right now I would have bought all four bottles they had. BUT then again, I really don't want all that tequila in my house, either. I have 2 bottles, that's quite enough!

So I put my thawed ribs in the oven, cooked up my veggies and had a great meal! With a bit of tequila. And I did my laundry and picked up some horse videos from freecycle.

I will totally enjoy sleeping past 6AM tomorrow!

The neighbor whose parking spot I will be taking is moving July 19th... Not sure when NN is moving. It can't be soon enough, although there was no noise this weekend. Amazing. Still, I am hoping it won't be long for him. One at a time, I guess!

My little moulting hummingbird has been at the feeder several times this afternoon. He looks a bit more shabby every day. Poor thing.

Getting a bit tired now. I'm sure it won't take long to fall asleep! It's just about time to find out.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-06-23 11:08:36
I really hate it when the just go on seniority, and not on over-all suitability for the position. But perhaps he won't get it, because of the complaints. If YOU have heard him being rude with customers, you can bet that there are others who have heard it too!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-06-23 11:59:22
Our school district is all about seniority and nepotism, especially when it comes to new hires. There are exceptions though. When I applied for my job, there were (I think) about 30 applicants. Two of them were tied as "shoe ins." Neither of them interviewed well and I was offered the job. Hang in there! An intelligent supervisor will see how having you in Returns or as an HC will make their job easier and will want to hire you.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-06-23 12:51:42
There is a certain mindset in some employers -- particularly when lots of people are looking for jobs -- that it doesn't matter if people quit, because it will be easy enough to fill the spot. And if the quitting employee is not yet "vested," so much the better; it has cost the company less!***I know you will do just fine; there's just this little niggling in my head: "Beanie is too good for them."
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-06-23 17:42:41
Unfortunately often the one who causes all the noise and squeaking is the one who gets promoted to move him out of the way. But, hopefully with all the great comments you continue to get, someone will open up their eyes and think....Beanie needs this full-time position.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-06-23 22:13:46
One of our managers pointed something out to me: most managers got to be that way because they have enough sense to see how things really are, and how to make things flow more smoothly. They may well put this guy into returns - figuring with enough customer complaints they may be able to eliminate him altogether.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group