ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-06-23 ... 5:00 p.m.

previous - next

Volunteering again at the museum

I had the day off from the Depot today, and since it was Freak Free Tuesday for the Auto Museum, I figured it would be a good day to go down and volunteer.

I was so right. There weren't a lot of staff there when I got there, just before 10. In fact, with the people lined up in front of the door, the staff was outnumbered at least 10 to 1. Jeebus!

So my day was filled with "Please don't play with the chains", "Please don't touch the cars" and "It's the fabulous car of Louie Mattar". I wrote about the Mattar car the last Free Tuesday I was down there. It was a huge draw again today.

As were the chains. The chains keep people a respectful distance from the cars. I really watched today, and aside from the 2-4 age group, the people who played with the chains the most were the 11-14 age boys. Must they always be doing something with their hands?? And it amazes me how many adults will let their children run wild in a building so full of people. Not to mention the people who *touch* the cars, and allow their kids to touch, even though there are signs everywhere. (If you don't own this car, DON'T TOUCH IT) One parent told a museum employee that they figured it was OK to touch the car because it was within arm's reach. Ummm NO.

The best one of the day, however, was the guy who was "adjusting" himself with his hand IN his pants. Then about 5 minutes later, I saw him take his gum out of his mouth, play with it, and start chewing it again. ICK!!!

It was fun, though. I met a lot of people and had some really good conversations today. It is definitely a good way to spend a day off!

I left there about 2:30, since the crowds were thinning quite a bit by then. The busiest times were definitely in the morning. Anyway I came home and had something to eat, and turned on a movie. I'll be resting my feet the rest of the night!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

wordy - 2009-06-24 00:46:59
yeah, some of those boys never outgrow it as gumchewer proved quite well
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-06-24 01:36:04
I was grateful that I didn't have boys, the whole running around and driving everyone mad thing was bad enough with E.Rose whenever she would get some chocolate in her. I can't imagine what a boy would have been like! And the whole "hands in the pants thing" why can't guys leave it alone for a while? Or go to a quiet corner to adjust the twins?
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-06-24 01:42:27
That hands in the pants thing is DNA coding for sure!
-------------------------------
beanie - 2009-06-24 02:21:16
It wasn't the hands in the pants thing so much as seeing him play with his gum right afterwards... and then put it back in his mouth!
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-06-24 04:25:49
Maybe he saw the "if you don't own it" sign and figured, "Hey, I own THIS" :)
-------------------------------
Moosey - 2009-06-24 09:09:36
At least it was his own hands down his pants. Could have been worse...
-------------------------------
deb - 2009-06-24 11:08:32
I'd be insane during an event like that - I'm pretty AR about rules. As for mr ajustment, guess all that high powered iron gave him a woody. And the gum thing - would never register afterall he'd probably put his parts in his mouth if it would reach. Dogs get all the luck.
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2009-06-24 16:00:16
I suppose the hands-in-pants guy was looking for a inconspicuous way to smell his hand.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-06-24 18:12:40
Thank goodness there wasn't a free buffet for Mr. hands-in-his-crotch to check out. that's just wrong....
-------------------------------
BT - 2009-06-24 19:14:07
If The Creator hadn't meant guys to play with their crotch, he wouldn't have made their arms that length.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group