ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-23 ... 8:16 p.m.

previous - next

Playing the waiting game

It was a pretty busy day today at work, and I didn't have much of a chance to talk to Norma. I did mention to her that I had no returns hours, and she said that she had to move a woman over there because she can't change her hours (they are early), she had to move her from the contractor's door because we have to have someone there who can speak spanish, and she doesn't want to put her back out in garden, where the woman really wants to be.

And there are two other people who work in returns, who have all the other hours covered, so that pretty much leaves me out. I was upset about that, but told her that I also need to work in self checkout, since I haven't had much time there, and if I want to be a head cashier, I need to work there and learn it. She said it would be closing hours, but I said I didn't mind. I don't do much after work anyway, and there's not much difference between 8:30 and 10:30 when it really comes down to it.

Plus I only want to work there until I learn it, then I can go back to wherever. I'm hoping by that time things will change once again and there will be a spot for me that I will enjoy.

I called the HC who gave me trouble yesterday because I had to have her void a transaction for me. She said she was "on her way". She never showed up. Most of those voids will lock the computer, and you can't do anything at all, but this one was just cancelling a transaction that had already been completed, so there was no urgency to it. But I hadn't told the HC that, so she totally blew me off, telling me she would be right there, and then going ON HER BREAK.

I waited 15 minutes, and then called again. That was when I found out she was on a break. Had it been an urgent thing, I would never have waited that long to call her back.

That really made me stop and think. I DO have to tell Norma about this, if for no other reason than to alert her to the irresponsible behavior of the HC. The thing is, she isn't usually like that. She recently got married, and Norma and I both think that she's pregnant, but not telling anyone. Norma has asked her and she denies it, but she sure is acting weird.

And with all the other disappointments I've had at the Depot lately, and having my requests ignored by the HC, I've been feeling like this is something personal, even though logically I don't think it is. I guess I just need to do the best I can and roll with the flow. It might not hurt to try to divert the flow a little bit though. I might just be looking for another stream to roll along with. Things change so much there in a week's time, and I seem to be in the middle of it all right now, that I'm not sure what I want to do.

Someone please give me several million dollars so I don't have to work and deal with all this crap, ok??

At least I didn't close garden tonight, so I got my breaks and lunch in when I was supposed to. That just makes my day so much better. And hopefully I will have a chance to talk to Norma tomorrow. Otherwise, I will have to wait until Wednesday, if she's working then. Guess I'll wait and see.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

im2qt2kr - 2009-05-24 06:01:30
I know this may sound a bit far fetched, but is there any chance you are being "tested", perhaps to see how well you can deal with various situations on your own, or under pressure???? Perhaps being tested for the next HC position??? Just a thought.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-05-24 11:21:36
Yup, it bites when things go all sideways and aggravating, especially after a decent period of smooth and hopeful. I don't think anyone is out to get you on a personal level, most people are waaaaay too self-involved to expend the energy dinking around with someone else just for the pleasure of it. Sounds more like there's been a change in the dynamics of who's in charge of the scheduling and assignments. Obviously the one who's handing out the hours and placements right now has ZERO talent for using the staff wisely. Less 'mean' than just blind and deaf to the fact there's real human beings attatched to the names on the schedule. Hopefully the tide will swing around again to someone who gets it right soon. In the meantime it's hard not to feel hurt and ignored, but you've invested a lot in this job and your time and effort so far is worth being patient for a while with the clueless bonehead scheduler and that do-nothing HC. ~LA
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-05-24 12:38:35
LA sounds very logical about this and I'd tend to agree with her. Things always shake out eventually, so hang on, things are bound to improve. XOFifi
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-24 15:27:37
I agree with the other comments and I had another thought. It may be that you are so reliable and competent that the powers that be just take advantage of your willingness to do things right and forget that at times you need some support whether it is to pick up the cash strip or answer a question. I don't think it is wrong for you to speak up when you need to. If you think you need to talk to Norma to advise her, then do it. And...as you know so well, there are "favorites" to get away with things that most of you won't....
-------------------------------
MFV - 2009-05-24 19:54:37
I've sometimes been tempted to let things fail. Not when it REALLY matters, nor when it leaves a decent co-worker neck-deep in problems... but when it would be hard to get blamed, if I felt undervalued I'd let something go when I could have saved the day. To be depended upon is one thing... to be taken for granted is another entirely. But I'm obviously a trouble-maker, and that's a very adversarial 'solution'. It's probably best that I don't work in a team anymore... :)
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-05-25 02:14:00
I would just work where scheduled and not say anything==things will fall back in place by themselves and then you will be back where you want to be.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group