ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-04 ... 8:44 p.m.

previous - next

More pictures, and it's raining!

Went for a walk this morning before work. It was still pretty cool out when I left, which was before 9. There was a lot more animal activity in the canyon today! The first thing I saw once I left the park was a coyote. It wasn't very close to me, but it was easy to tell it wasn't someone's dog.

Photobucket

There were a lot of birds around too, some are new varieties for me. But they fly past so quickly I often don't get a good look at them, and certainly can't get them on camera. I took a different route down into the canyon, and a different path on the way out. I saw a HUGE rabbit, too. That also ran away pretty quickly, before I could even turn my camera on! I guess I don't blame it!

I can see things in the canyon from my house, but it looks pretty different when I'm actually down there. Plus not having the birds' eye view, I just can't find things. I wasn't quite as adventurous yesterday because I was wearing shorts. Today I wore jeans, so if I hit some poisonous plants or (heaven forbid) animals, at least I had a bit more protection. So today I went along some of the smaller paths, and almost totally avoided the stony areas I was on yesterday.

I wonder who hung this jacket up in the tree?

Photobucket

This was a strange tree. It seemed more like it had skin than bark. And you can tell that the sun wasn't shining through all those clouds!

Photobucket

I did come to a few spots where my path ended, and I had to backtrack and find a different route. That's ok, it's all in the interest of exploration! I draw the line at having to use hands and feet to climb something!

Photobucket

Photobucket

There were more holes in the ground, these were much smaller than the ones I saw yesterday, which were about the size of an old silver dollar. These were more like dime sized.

Photobucket

There were a few splashes of color around that I didn't photograph yesterday.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And this was pretty interesting. Is it a homeless refuge, or a hangout?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Judging by this, my guess is that it's a hangout...

Photobucket

This would be a great place for a lawn chair, a book and a pitcher of lemonade..

Photobucket

So I made my way home, and my pedometer said 4410 steps. Judging by the time it took, and calculating the lengths of my steps I am guessing I walked about 2 miles or maybe a bit more. It takes me 5 steps to go 12 feet.

I took a shower, packed my lunch and went to work. The sun never really came out, and it was pretty cool out in the garden area. There was an awesome breeze, and it was beautiful.. until about 7 when it started to rain. It's now 8:45, and still raining. I was wearing my crocs, so by the time I got to my car, my feet were soaked! It was really wet outside!!

The plants in the canyons need it though. Everything is so dry that it becomes a fire hazard after a while. It would be great if it just rained all night. That means though, no walk for me tomorrow, because everything will be mud, and if it rains all night, I'm guessing the rock paths will be full of water.

That's ok, I'm supposed to work a split shift tomorrow, although when I looked at tomorrow's schedule, I'm not on for the split. Since Norma will be there tomorrow when I get there, I will be asking her exactly what she wants me to work. She might just want me to be 10-6:30 instead of 10-2 and then 4:30-8:30. In that case, I'll need a lunch... I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Sheesh. Even the schedules that I think are set are getting messed up. Oh well... I think it's time to check out the temporary agencies. I talked to Norma this morning about the week after next when I only have 2 days, and she said I should call her in the mornings to see if someone called in sick, since they do that all the time, and if she will have hours for me that day. Yeah, sure makes it easy to have a life and be able to plan things, huh? What a disappointment, although I'm being told that it's only like this for a couple of months until construction starts back up in the spring. It's just living until then.

Oh well. I'm just going to enjoy the smell of the rain and veg out a little bit with my feet up. I can deal with this crap tomorrow.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-10-05 06:46:21
I hope you job hunt is successful. Sometimes it's a matter of luck, sometimes timing, but something will definitely come along for you :)
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-10-05 14:51:35
I loved your pictures! I am wishing you luck on your job search. Sandyz
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-10-05 15:44:00
Interesting pics. I loved your description of the "skin" bark. Sorry about the work situation - that must be really irritating. Hopefully the situation will improve soon or another opportunity is just around the corner.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-05 17:26:03
Sorry about the work situation. It's always a good idea to keep alternatives open. And, by the way, that is a homeless camp.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2008-10-05 17:35:49
Just be careful when you're walking in those canyons by yourself!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-10-05 18:16:08
Yes, be very careful down there in the canyon! I'd take a small knife with me if I were you! Carry it with the blade running back along your arm, sharp edge pointing out. If someone comes up behind you it makes it easier to stab backwards. Better to be safe!

Meanwhile, that tree with the peeling bark is a eucalyptus. They imported them in from Australia to be farmed as railroad ties, but they discovered that the variety they imported would split and twist, making them unusable!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-10-05 19:46:26
I know I am "nervous Nellie" but I was thinking about you walking in the canyon alone too. Especially since you found the hang-out there. Hope the work situation gets better, I know you don't want to get into a mess after the Tombstone event...
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-10-05 19:49:21
I guess it's no wonder they have such an employee turnover. I'm sorry it happens that way; you really seem to enjoy it there. But my sister always told me, just wait, when it's time, something good will happen.
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-10-06 14:06:51
I would be very careful around the "hangout". Those looked like paint cans to me. Can you say "sniffin"? Hope not, but that's what my first thought was when I saw them. Nice pics. Loved them.
-------------------------------
onewetleg - 2008-10-06 17:11:19
Don't carry a knife, you can get in trouble for cutting someone even if they attack you. Carry pepper spray. I don't really know if I could stab someone but i sure could spray them with pepper spray. Oh, ok, I could stab someone.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group