ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-15 ... 6:15 p.m.

previous - next

A wet kitchen floor

I worked this morning at 6:30, not real wide awake, but I made it on time. It was slow in returns, and I just did a little cleaning and working ahead on things I could do. It was a long day.

The best part was meeting Poolagirl for coffee afterwards. It was nice to sit outside, drink our coffees and chat. She is pretty busy lately, and our schedules don't always match, so it's nice to catch what time we can.

I stopped and picked up some tacos, and came home. The kitchen floor was really hot, and the linoleum had bubbled up. The hot water pipes run under the floor... I realized after I stepped in the kitchen, and back onto the carpeting that the linoleum bubbled up because there was water underneath it, and the carpeting was wet, too. Nice.

So I called the management company, and they sent a guy out to look at it. Yep. There is a leak in the hot water pipes, likely under my kitchen floor somewhere. The guy who came out pulled up the carpeting and the pad, and mopped up what he could. He called his boss to try to get someone out to fix it tonight, but he doesn't think that's likely. Great.

He wanted to turn the water off, at least the hot water, but there are 8 other tenants here, and I don't think that will work. If it was a house, that's what he would do. But.. there are lots of other people living here, and they use hot water at various times of the day and night. I hear people taking showers late at night, and as early as 4:30AM. Sometimes that 4:30 person is me!

So let's see. Since I moved in a little over a month ago, my sink had backed up, the oven doesn't work, and I have a water leak in the floor. I'm sure glad I didn't BUY this place!

I'm waiting on a call to see if someone else will be coming out tonight, or if they are going to wait until morning. It's always something!

This actually reminds me of a story from back when I was in my mid-twenties... during the hippie era in Milwaukee. One of the girls I worked with called out of work one day because her "water pipe" broke. We all wondered if she was distraught because her bong broke, or if it was one of the water pipes in her apartment. Heh.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

art - 2009-03-16 02:07:56
aw crapo!! whats next? roaches? how about mold? yeeee!!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-16 02:45:42
EEEEP!! Good thing you don't have to pay for it. I hope it gets fixed quickly!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-03-16 12:11:35
Giggling over the broken bong. Sorry to hear of another breakdown in your apt though! ~LA
-------------------------------
goatbarnwitch - 2009-03-16 12:59:31
Dang, what a mess of busted stuff since you moved in. I hope this is the last thing.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-03-16 13:20:01
The brain from a different era: I heard "water" and "broke" and thought, "how many minutes between pains?"
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2009-03-16 16:42:40
If you're interested, there are tons of book swapping websites. I'm on one called swaptree.com. You list what you have and what you want, and eventually they pair you up with someone to exchange your books. Makes it nice if you want tons of stuff and have books to give. Just an idea!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-16 18:11:59
I have been noticing all the little things that have been going wrong....hopefully you will get a new carpet out of it...but dealing with the mess is never fun....
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-03-16 18:57:08
I'm hoping none of your personal property was damaged. I have wood floors and when a pipe sprang a slow leak, I didn't realize it right away. a little while later, the floor it that area became a miniature rollercoaster of big and little bumps. Mom didn't exactly enjoy riding over it with her wheelchair!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group