ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-09 ... 5:41 p.m.

previous - next

An interesting day in returns

Another 5:30AM work day.. today was in returns though, so it went really fast. And the best thing was that Rebecca's was open, so I had a quadruple hammerhead to drink while I was working and working on waking up. Woot!

Rebecca's doesn't close at all between Thursday morning and Sunday night, so I could actually stop to get my coffee. I am so glad! It's just a treat to have their hammerheads... trust me, you only need one.

Today in returns some guys were returning a bunch of stuff they didn't need, including a half box of screws. They had four boxes, one of which had only half of what the other ones did. When I pointed that out, they said that was the way they bought them, at the Chula Vista store. Yeah. So I told them 1/ the box was open and 2/ half the screws are gone, and if that's the way they bought them in Chula Vista, then they needed to return them IN Chula Vista. Not at my store! Sheesh!

I also had a guy who had a receipt from 2007 and a small can of wood stain. When I scanned the receipt, the computer told me that it had already been returned. Of course, he told me that his wife gave him the wrong receipt. Uh huh. So I told him I could give him store credit without the receipt, but I needed his driver's license. He told me it was out in his car.

I really thought he stole the can of stain and was trying to return it for cash with an old receipt, like maybe he'd done before. So when he went outside "to his car" I watched him, and he got on his bicycle and pedaled off. Ha!

I was surprised to see him back about a half hour later with his ID and the can of wood stain. So I gave him his store credit and kept the can of stain. I figured if he worked that hard for store credit, he deserved it!

The reason we require an ID for returns without a receipt is to track who is returning what. Obviously, stolen merchandise doesn't have a receipt, so only giving store credit and requiring an ID makes it a bit harder to profit from the theft. Plus the computer "suspends" the ID when there are frequent returns on it, requiring a manager's approval for the return.

One return was refused today because the man had written a check to the Depot of Home that BOUNCED and the computer would not authorize any returns without a receipt until the check was dealt with. That was a new one on me!

We also have salesmen outside the entryway who are trying to sell heating and cooling systems and home remodeling. They give away bags of candy if you stop and agree to have someone come over and give you an estimate. The one guy had toffee bars.. yum! I told him I was "eyeing them up".

He came back to me later and told me if I would kiss him on the cheek he would give me a package of the toffee bars. I just laughed, and told him that I would stop on my way home. Did I? NO!!! That was just a little too weird. Now, if it had been the cute, younger guy selling home remodeling, I might have considered it... hahhaha.

Then I went off to Joanie's to get my hair cut and colored. It felt so good when she was washing my hair.. I almost fell asleep. And she takes her time, too, so it was just a little bit of heaven in my afternoon. And now my hair is all pretty again, with no grey in it.

I stopped and picked up some Chinese food from the Great Wall because I really didn't feel like cooking. And for $5, I got enough for tonight, and enough for lunch tomorrow. So I don't even have to worry about making something for lunch. I made pea soup and tuna casserole last week, and they finally ran out. I had some Thanksgiving turkey today... I guess it's easiest just to make big meals and freeze and reheat... because sandwiches get boring after a while, and it's a pain to make up a lunch for every work day. I'll have to work on that. Thank goodness there's a microwave to use at work!

So now it's off to Rebecca's for jazz night. I think I'll take my book along, just in case it's quiet there. I do need to get out of the house now and then, and not to go to work! Anyone want to meet me?

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Fifi - 2009-01-10 02:32:56
Beanie, do you ever make peanut squares anymore or was that just a grocery thing? They always sounded so delicious! XOFifi Pee Ess I am so happy that you got free!
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-01-10 04:10:56
You are truly a Super Sleuth!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-01-10 06:31:46
You were smart to not fall for the kiss. There's an elderly gentleman in one of the clubs I'm in that, when there's a new lady joining, he'll go up and tell her, "today's my birthday, can I have a birthday kiss on the cheek?" And when she goes to kiss her, her turns his head around real fast and gets her smack on the lips. No candy is worth THAT! haaaa
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-10 16:36:34
you DID have an interesting day....boy that bag of candy sounds good but not kissing someone for it..... ick!!!! I am glad you got a head massage, shampoo, color and cut. That had to be the best part of the whole day for you.
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-01-10 20:11:30
Aww, I think gray hair is lovely. I hope mine turns all gray! My mom and sister did by they time they were my age, where is my gray hair? LOL. Well, I guess I don't have 5 kids by this age, either. Can't win them all
-------------------------------
art - 2009-01-11 00:00:13
im getting old and grey around the edges! why does the store even GIVE store credit? i dont get that concept!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-11 05:17:24
Oh I'd love to meet up with you at Rebecca's!! Sounds like an excellent night out. I love how you gave that guy the store credit because he worked so hard for it. Good for you!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group