ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-02 ... 3:23 p.m.

previous - next

I've been crying today

Yeah, crying, but not for any of the reasons you might think. I elected to stay home today (good thing it was my day off ha!) instead of lunching at the museum, or even doing my laundry. I had this bean cuisine soup I wanted to make, and since it's full of beans, it takes forever to cook. In fact, it's supposed to cook for 2.5 to 3 hours, or until the beans are tender. We are nearing the three hour mark now... plus it takes prep time and time to get the soup boiling before starting to watch the time. Yes, an afternoon project.

So why was I crying? I had to chop 1 1/2 cups of onions... it's been ages since I've actually chopped any vegetables in a quantity like that. But the soup smells wonderful! It's "Ultima Pasta e Fagioli" made by Bean Cuisine. It's almost ready, I just have to add the pasta and simmer until that's tender. Yummy!

It was nice to just spend a day relaxing and not doing much of anything. I made a few necessary phone calls, did the dishes, and went online to check out the status of my new phone account. I changed it two weeks ago when I got a new phone, but somehow it never got changed, and I still was paying for the family plan.

PLUS, the girl I talked to prorated the bill, and said that I qualified for a $70 rebate for agreeing to a 2-year contract, that no one had applied to my bill. So I'm really glad I double checked that! Phones are a necessity for me, but really, they are sometimes a pain.

I plan on watching the debates tonight... just to see for myself what's happening. I've been relying on the news and other people for my information, but I think tonight might just be the night I actually watch it for myself.

19 days to TOMBSTONE!! I think this is the first time I'm going on vacation when I'm not stressed to the max. What a great feeling!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-10-03 00:21:22
Yummie!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-10-02 23:49:43
that bean soup sounds yummy!!! hope it turns out ok!!!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2008-10-02 23:57:10
Great minds must think alike. I made bean soup too, though mine didn't have nearly that many onions, mainly because I didn't have that many. But I did cook dry pinto beans and added leeks, swiss chard, tomatos, mushrooms, celery, green peppers, and lots of other yummy stuff, and instead of pasta I used wheat berries which took almost as long as the beans to cook, but were quite good. I had some ciabatta bread in the freezer I popped in the oven. YUMMO to quote RR.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-10-03 01:02:07
Can I have the recipe for your bean soup?? It sounds DELICIOUS! Also, you may want to invest in a sharper knife. I haven't cried while chopping onions since I upgraded my knives, so that might work for you.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-10-03 01:04:48
I learned that if you keep your mouth closed while chopping/peeling onions, you don't cry. If you open it even a little it won't work - but keep your lips zipped completely and you're good.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-03 09:39:42
1) am so glad that you were only crying over onions! you had my heart a-flutter! 2) i have heard that if you're crying over onions, that your knife is dull. supposedly if you use a sharp knife to cut them, you won't cry.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-10-03 20:10:40
I don't chop onions but I have heard if you cut them underwater; you won't cry either. Whatever the case, the soup sounded delicious. Nice to have a slow, relaxing day.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group