ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-21 ... 6:02 p.m.

previous - next

A tequila kind of night

As good a day as I had in garden yesterday, it sucked today. In fact, today reminded me of why I don't like working out there.

My first customer of the day took all my $5 bills.... so I was left with a $100 bill and about 35 dollars in ones. We send money back and forth from the vault in a tube system, and of course, there were NO TUBES.

After letting the phone ring in the vault for about 20 rings, I finally called the computer room and told the lady I needed change ASAP but I didn't have a tube. She told me they were all up in the front, and the front end told me they had none. Where were all the fricking tubes????

About 20 minutes later, the HC came out and brought me a tube. Thank god! I finally got my change, and I felt a bit better about having customers pay in cash.

The zapper gun thingie wasn't working again, so I had to switch tills. They are preloaded in the morning with money, so that meant I signed in for TWO tills. Not much I could do about that.

And of course, I tried getting ahold of garden associates for "customer assistance" and even though I had seen FIVE garden people, none of them would respond. I think that's my biggest peeve of all out there, when you need help and no one will answer the radio, because they don't want to have to deal with customers.

But once more cashiers came in, it was easier to help customers, because then I could move around garden a bit. The plant company brought in a ton of plants, all wrapped in paper. It was pretty slow out there, so I was taking the paper off the plants for them. They SO appreciate it, because it just slows things down. (And I'm the only one who will help them)

They came along, and Tim had heard that Blue complained about me the last time I had helped them, and asked if I'd gotten into any trouble over it. I told him, "Just with Blue, and that doesn't bother me" and he said that was good, and that he would talk to the store manager about it if I'd gotten into any real trouble. Heh. Nice to know I have some backup!

That was totally the high point of my day. We all got through our lunches and breaks fine. However... I was so used to starting at 5:30 and being off at 2, that at 1:50 I closed up my till and did the final count, and then realized I wasn't off until 2:30! I should just have left a half hour early, but instead, I just signed back in, which meant that I had yet ANOTHER $100 till signed out to me. Jeebus. I called the vault and warned them that it might be a bit tricky to figure out my till tomorrow... if I'm $200 short, I'll know why!

Thankfully, I left at 2:30. It was raining when I got outside, so it was a slow ride home on the freeway. I suppose because it's Friday the freeway was jammed, or maybe people were just driving slow because of the rain. For whatever reason though, it took a while to get home. I don't mind, since I got here without an accident. Phew!

Tonight, I have decided, is a tequila kind of night.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2009-08-22 01:32:18
Cheers to you!! I only wish I could have a shot or three with you.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-08-22 09:13:21
Oops... We all have those moments now and then, don't we? I once left work an hour early, just because I read the clock wrong. I called my manger as soon as I realized what I'd done. (She just cracked up, thank goodness!)
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-08-22 12:10:31
Sounds just like our Garden Center! What a joke.
-------------------------------
MoodyGemini - 2009-08-22 14:23:51
k I resubbed to you again (*I dont know what happened, you fell off my google reader radar a while back*) and lemme get this straight.....you work at the Depot AND have a romance with a mysterious man?????? ooo lala!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group